Skip Menu

Board of Regents welcomes new members

bor-aug-23-recognition.webpFour new members were sworn in at the meeting of the Morehead State Board of Regents on Friday, Aug. 18.

The new regents are:

    • Student Regent Presley Boyer

    • Faculty Regent Dr. Joyce Stubbs

    • Appointees Rhonda Jennings Blackburn and John Holbrook


Boyer is a senior biomedical science major from Louisa, Kentucky, and president of the MSU Student Government Association. She was elected by the student body.

Stubbs is an associate professor of engineering and technology management and is administra

tion certified for career and technical education. She was elected by the faculty.

Blackburn is an associate general counsel with Pikeville Medical Center, Inc. focusing primarily on risk management and litigation management.

Holbrook is the business manager-financial secretary-treasurer of the Tri-State Building and Construction Trades Council, covering 32 counties in Eastern Kentucky, South Central Ohio, and Southern West Virginia.

In addition, the board elected officers during the meeting. Eric Howard will serve as chair, Sanford Holbrook will serve as vice chair, and Mary Fister-Tucker was reappointed treasurer. Jessica Stigall will serve as board secretary.

MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan recognized Groundskeeper Melissa Brown, the MSU Women’s Golf Team and Head Coach Stephanie Barker, and Dr. Wilson González-Espada, professor of physics and science education, for their accomplishments and contributions to the University.

President Morgan presented reports to the board on personal service contracts, real property leases, the 2024 employee health plan, a university bond sale, and a feasibility study for a proposed new residence hall.

The board approved asset preservation projects which included renovations for Nunn Hall, Ginger Hall, Laughlin Health Building, and a water retention basin. They also approved seeking reimbursement for costs related to asset preservation capital projects and the razing of Wetherby Gymnasium. The board approved contracts for the athletic director and coaches, revisions to the student code of conduct, Ohio Valley Conference (OVC) Governing Board certification, and the University's 2023-24 operating budget.

The next meeting is Nov. 3, 2023.

Photo Captions:

From left, MSU president Dr. Jay Morgan, Melissa Brown, the Women’s Golf Team, Head Coach Stephanie Barker, and Dr. Wilson González-Espada.

Members of the Board: Front row, from left: Dr. Joyce Stubbs, Dr. Joel Pace, Presley Boyer, Rhonda Jennings Blackburn, Wayne Martin, and MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan. Second row, from left, Craig Preece, Adam Hinton, Sanford Holbrook, Eric Howard, John Holbrook, and Arthur Walker.

Contact Us