Skip Menu
Email Us!

Eagles came home for Homecoming 2023  

Students, alumni, faculty, staff, and friends of Morehead State University returned as proud Eagles to celebrate the blue and gold during this year's annual Homecoming celebration.  

"This campus is home to thousands of alumni and Homecoming here is special.  It is amazing to see so many Eagles reconnect and talk about their MSU memories and experiences,” said Allison Caudill (Class of 2005, 2009), executive director of alumni relations and development. “This University changes lives and we are honored to have so many loyal alumni who come back to campus to celebrate their love for MSU.” 

On Friday, Nov. 3, MSU held its Memorial Brick Ceremony to honor faculty and staff who passed away during the last year at the Memorial Plaza near the Little Bell Tower.  

View Memorial Brick Ceremony Gallery. 


Also on Friday, the Centennial Eagle statue, funded by a gift from Ron (Class of 1965) and Diane Cartee and created by world-renowned artist Sam McKinney (Class of 1973, 1992), was unveiled in a special ceremony in the ADUC Commons.  

View Centennial Eagle Gallery.

Morehead State recognized the newest members of the Alumni Hall of Fame. The newest Alumni Hall of Fame winners are: 

The Founders Award for University Service winner for 2023 was the late Dr. Jerry Gore (Class of 1971, 1972, 1975)

The recipients of the 2023 Alumni Awards included: 

  • Notable Alumni Award winner -- Robert Moore (Class of 1998, 2007). 
  • Rising Eagle Award winner -- Shannon Callihan (Class of 2015). 
  • Eagle Spirit Award -- Peggy Osborne (Class of 1979) and Madonna Weathers (Class of 1971, 1972). 

View Alumni Awards and Reception Gallery. 

Among the many activities and reunions during Homecoming, there was a 2023 Stepshow and Competition held in Button Auditorium. 

View Stepshow Gallery. 

On Saturday, Nov. 4, Eagles packed the athletic complex for a Homecoming tailgate. Later that afternoon, they gathered at Jayne Stadium to watch MSU Eagle Football take on the Butler Bulldogs. 

During halftime, Shaela Worsley, a senior from Richmond, and Blake McKibben, a senior from Flemingsburg, were crowned as this year's Homecoming Queen and King. Members of the Homecoming Court members were Abigail Cooper (senior, Vanceburg), Chloe Marstiller (senior, sociology), Lucy Simpson (senior, Ironton, Ohio), Alexia Wilkerson (senior, Pikeville), James "J.T." Dials (senior, Inez), Vincent Harper (sophomore, Morehead), Noah Sewell (senior, Harrodsburg) and Nathan Smith (senior, Hazard).  

View Tailgate and Football Gallery.

Save the date for Morehead State’s 2024 Homecoming Oct. 10-12, 2024. For more information, visit or contact the Office of Alumni Relations & Development at 606-783-2033 or

Contact Us