Skip Menu

Gender Studies Awards & Scholarships


This contest is named after Dr. Judy Rogers, former Dean of Undergraduate Programs, tireless advocate for gender inclusiveness, and a founding member of the Interdisciplinary Women’s Studies Program at MSU, predecessor of our current Gender Studies Program. The Judy Rogers Creative Consciousness Challenge recognizes outstanding work in the areas of creative prose, poetry, research, visual art, performance/video art, and social activism.

Successful submissions demonstrate original insights into and/or novel approaches to Gender Studies. This contest is held every spring and is currently open to undergraduate students enrolled at Morehead State University only. The submission deadline is the last Friday in March. Deliver artwork, CDs or DVDs to 355 Rader Hall. Please submit only one work for consideration. Written submissions and questions about the contest may be sent to


The Darren Branham Pride Scholarship is awarded to freshmen students from Pike County who self-identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender. 


The Hobbs Endowment for Equality Scholarship Program encourages gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender undergraduate and graduate students at Morehead State University to apply for the two scholarships made possible by generous contributions from many people. The object of the scholarship program is to recognize and encourage academic excellence and to offer financial support to meritorious students pursuing a bachelor's or advanced degree at MSU. Scholarship recipients are chosen by a competitive selection process and will have clearly demonstrated in their application strong skills in many areas, including academic scholarship, leadership involvement, and community service. 


The Bernard L. McKay Award of Excellence for LGBT Scholars is awarded to full-time undergraduate student who self-identifies as lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender and have demonstrated commitment to equality for the LGBT community. Preference given to students from Mason, Bracken, Robertson and Fleming counties. 


The Morehead Woman's Club Scholarship is available to full-time, female graduates of Rowan County Senior High School. 


Morehead State offers a variety of institutional, foundation-funded, and departmental scholarships. Students are automatically considered for institutional scholarships based on their admission application. Last year, we awarded nearly $18,000,000 to our students in scholarships and grants through institutional aid and the MSU Foundation. These are made possible through generous donations of MSU donors and alumni. Students can apply for MSU Foundation scholarships at


If you would like to make a financial contribution to the Gender Studies Program, please visit and specify the "Women's Studies Program Fund" for your gift designation. The fund is used for the needs of the program.

Contact Information

Dr. Bernadette Barton

341 Rader Hall
Morehead, KY 40351

PHONE: 606-783-2710