Skip Menu

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is concerned with University and Advisory committees, University governance, and faculty representation. It has specific concerns with, but is not limited to, the following areas:

  1. Structure, membership, and responsibilities of University Standing and Advisory Committees
  2. Structure of the Division of Academic Affairs.
  3. Oversight of the election of Faculty Senators (See ARTICLE TWO, Sections 1, 2, and 3).
  4. Oversight of any special elections required by the Senate.
  5. Nomination of faculty members for all University Standing and Advisory committees that have faculty representation.
  6. Oversight of the Faculty Regent election according to procedure established by the Senate and state law.
  7. Oversight of the election of senators to the Executive Council (To be conducted by the remaining members of the previous year's Governance Committee. See ARTICLE FOUR, Section 6.) If less than three members from the previous Governance Committee are available, then additional senators will be appointed by the Senate President as needed to conduct the election of the Executive Council.

Current Members

  • Chair Lesia Lennex (COE)
  • JT Blackledge (COS)
  • Monica Himes (HUM)
  • Mike Kessinger (COE)
  • Md Golam Kibria (COS)
  • Gera Nelson (COE)
  • Roma Prindle (HUM)
  • Tathagata Ray (COB)

Contact Information

Faculty Senate

Susan Perry, Faculty Senate Secretary
302A Ginger Hall

PHONE: 606-783-2598